Network Storm: WhatsApp messages are not completely deleted • HWzone
GadgetsAppsSmartphones

Network Storm: WhatsApp messages are not completely deleted

Expert System Loading messages in the Erased by users leave traces on the device and are backed by a cloud

Get updates from everyone in TelgramGet updates from us all at TelgramJoin the channel now


WhatsApp, the world's most popular instant messaging application , Was praised by researchers Three months ago when he encrypted messages and conversations from end to end. Now, unfortunately, she has to struggle again for her reputation.

The former hacker and Apple operating system expert, iOS, Jonathan Zdirsky, published In his personal blog at the end of the week a new study he conducted. According to him, messages in the app that users Asking to erase is not really erased - despite the indication of the erasure and disappearance of the screen.

WhatsApp on iPhone (From the home page)
On the iPhone (from the software homepage)

Zidaski says that he installed the application, initiated several calls and responded to them, then deleted some of them and created a second backup. According to his findings, the deletion did not affect the backups, so that the deleted call log still exists in the SQLite database. He makes it clear that WhatsApp keeps these traces on purpose, but based on them, the content of the messages can be restored. Zdiarsky also explained that the problem of saving information is a common problem in software using SQLite, and that the situation in other messaging applications, such as iMessage , Much worse.

IPhone Backup Services - are the "desktop" backups that your device needs to connect to And the Internet made using iCloud - contain the database of . Unfortunately, only the desktop backup via iTunes can be encrypted, while the iCloud backup remains exposed. It should be noted that call traces remain even if the user has disabled sync with iCloud in the app.

From: WhatsApp

This means that you can obtain call content in a variety of ways: by accessing and backing up your device, using an existing backup stored on your computer or accessing cloud services , In the case of an enforcement authority that holds a legal order.

Zdjarski emphasizes that users do not need to panic, but recommends that they set a strong backup password using iTunes, cancel the backup function in iCloud and reinstall the app periodically (since this is the only way to delete the listings permanently). As of today, Did not respond to the findings.


Tags
Back to top button
Close
Close